Wednesday Vignette – Plaque and Jonquil

This plaque came from my old garden in inner-city Sydney.

Surrounded by 100 year old bricks, render and strict Victorian-era order, it worked well there….but in this garden….not quite so well.

IMG_3168

Except for a month in spring….I rather like how the ruffles on the Jonquil reference the details of the garden plaque…perhaps I just haven’t found the right spot for the plaque yet.

It does, however have sentimental value. It came from a parapet atop the very first house I bought which, when I sold it, was to be raised for duplexes, so I salvaged some of the old architectural details and have kept this one ever since.

Linking in with Anna over at Flutter & Hum : do check out what has caught the eye of other bloggers around the globe

35 thoughts on “Wednesday Vignette – Plaque and Jonquil

  1. Lovely – it is sad to think that the house is gone. This is happening all over Portland right now. Small wooden houses (perfect for first time buyers) are razed and behemoth, shoddily built houses at twice the price are going up instead. Glad you kept a memento…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, it was a tiny, 5 room, run-down house (but like many Australian row-houses, even the smallest were given an ornamental façade).
      The developer had been buying up the row (and renting them out while he waited) for years and after the one next to me was bought by him, he came knocking on my door ….

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your old house sounded beautiful Matt, how sad it was knocked down, I really like the positioning of your plaque where you have it now, reminders of old times when you are working in a garden are very meaningful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Julie, I liked the house and have very fond memories of it because it was my first, but it certainly wasn’t nice! Even when Australia built tiny workers terraces, they gave them over-the-top façade treatment. But once you got past the rendered façade, the rest was just corrugated iron sheets on very badly built lean-to extensions.
      But I do love the lady’s face on the plaque and it’s nice to know she didn’t go to the tip when the rest of the 6 terraces were bulldozed

      Like

  3. The plaque is marvelous! So often we’re unable to take architectural details from one house to the next .. either because they’re nonremoveable or because there are no ‘details’ at all! Tract houses built in the 1950s and 1960s aren’t usually rife with structural charm, LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Why not use some of your copious rocky assets to create a garden sculpture? Sort of a pillar with the plaque set into it? Could be a goer. Love the jonquils. We only have singles here. I keep seeing glorious bright yellow jonquils around the neighbourhood. Must find a way to get hold of some as they really brighten the place up at this time of year 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The plaque figure’s wavy curls do nicely mirror the fluffy petals of the daffodils. I’m sure it will find it’s rightful place once your garden is more fully fleshed out. I’m still moving around sentimental pieces I brought from our last house and I’ve been at the moving in process here close to 5 years – it takes time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Kris – it’s weird that something so simple as a garden ornament can take up so much time in terms of placement – I think I need to be more like the gardens I see in the PNW which have lots of ornaments and plants just grow their way through and over them

      Like

  6. I’m sure you will find the right spot for your lovely plaque; I was thinking about the rocks on your new terraces, you could build of a small section and add the plaque; Or what about near the front or back door of the house? It would be a shame not to use it to advantage.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Christina! I like those suggestions. I think my ambivalence with it in its current spot stems from the last house before this one: it was an inner city courtyard and that plaque was on a rendered wall surrounded by Ficus pumila. Needless to say, it just looked perfect.
      I’ve thought about growing climbers on this section of retaining wall, but being timber it will rot away with climbers over it. But I like the idea of it being visible from the house!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

