Butcher Bird

Just a very short post.

Cracticus_torquatus_-Brisbane_-garden_fence-8

Butcher Birds – image courtesy of Wikipedia

It’s a miserable day here with rain and thick fog as the weather prepares to take a turn for the worse over the next few days.

A small Butcher Bird, one of the many Australian song-birds, was busy singing on the fence.

I managed to get a few snaps and gave it a small piece of cat food (the only meat in the house – I don’t actually eat much meat) which it seemed to relish….

IMG_1683

IMG_1675 IMG_1677

These little fellows feast on insects and other small mammals like mice so are great to have around.

They have the most beautiful calls.

If you want to listen, here’s a you-tube link that I found. At 6 minutes, it’s long, but gives you an incredible feel for the variety of notes in its song:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NGzasKOtjXI

Happy Gardening 🙂

 

39 thoughts on “Butcher Bird

    • Too true, but it gobbled the little piece of chicken before flying off. The cats are very well fed, so they can bird-watch through the windows as I give the local wildlife their breakfast!

      Like

  1. They do have good ‘voices’ but I’m a bit wary of butcher birds; they raided our picnic once and snatched sandwiches right out of our hands. Check those bills.

    After 29ºC and a blistering sun yesterday Sydney has cooled to 23ºC today with a drizzle. Hot again tomorrow. A lot of flu around.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a range of song! Very cool. Yesterday I played a 5 minute video of mockingbird calls on my cell phone. There’s a breeding pair in my yard these days. It turns out, the song I was playing was the males mating call. The female came over and perched inches from my head and cooed back at me. The male was pissed! Oops, broke up a happy home.

    The mockingbird will mimic anything it hears to increase its arsenal of song skills. Car alarms, cell phone ring tones, cats. You name it.

    I like them especially because they chase away the crows that tend to mess up my garden. They are relentless and will even attack hawks and sometimes people.

    Like some birds, they have amazing facial recognition skills. So if they like me, they’ll always remember my face and never attack. That was the plan to keep them around. Until I flirted with the female that is.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I could do with some of these to eat the mice here! If you want to find other birdsong, the BBC did a programme called tweet of the day; it’s available as a podcast free worldwide. The first series was British birds but the second included birds from all over the world. I think you’d like it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s Pat, they call it a butcher bird because of what it does to its prey – even the briny piece of chicken cat food that I gave it, it had to bash it against a rock and impale it with a stick before eating it….that’s why it’s known as the butcher bird. 🙂

      Like

  4. Before I moved to Serendipity Farm a bird was a bird was a bird. I had my favourites, I fed the noisy minor birds bread when we first got here (and lived to regret it for many years 😉 ) I adore magpies and ravens and any bird really but when you interact with them or at least get to see them in their natural habitat you get a different appreciation for them. We put small cubes of cheese out on the window sill. We used to put mince but now the birds prefer cheese cubes for some reason (more fat, most probably more like the make-up of an insect) and we have regular visits from the grey shrike thrushes that my dad used to feed mince to, blackbirds, sparrows, Currawongs (when they are breeding) and our local feral cat when Earl isn’t looking. Butcher birds have a lovely song but they are also prone to predating baby chicks and robbing other birds nests of their eggs and chicks. It’s bird eat bird around here!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. love the photos:-) I listened to the bird and what an amazing song. Your birds just blow me away for they are out of this world! Fascinating:-)
    It is not one sound this bird makes it has “many” love the low one it has,too:-) I would say that is a concert!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love your posts about your birds! I’ve long been a fan of many of your native plants and now you’re showing us gorgeous feathered creatures! Love the songs of this bird! Thanks for sharing the link to the sound!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a surprise, I wouldn’t have guessed this guy’s sound would have been anything other than a straight squawk, it’s actually an amazing mix of tunes and tones…. and it eats dogfood! Cool bird.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

