GBFD – Physocarpus opulifolius ‘Diablo’

To celebrate Garden Bloggers Foliage Day (GBFD), hosted by Christina at Garden of the Hesperides, I bring you Physocarpus opulifolius ‘Diablo’.

Otherwise known as Ninebark, the ‘Diablo’ shrub is normally a deep blackish-purple, but backlit by low summer sun as it is here this morning brings out the underlying red tones in a prelude to autumn that makes it especially fiery, almost diabolique….

IMG_1026

Ninebark ‘Diablo’

Happy Gardening 🙂

20 thoughts on “GBFD – Physocarpus opulifolius ‘Diablo’

  1. You’ve chosen one of my favourite plants; I have one but it suffers every year in the heat, I need to give it more water it deserves it. Thanks for joining GBFD again this month, it is always lovely to see some summer foliage when I’m in winter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, you picked one of my some time must have-items! It is such a lovely shrub, but I have no room. Right now I’m forced into editing mode, a long way from acquisition mode. I’ll have to enjoy it vicariously through you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE nine bark. I have 4 coppertina + one diablo…I guess, you can tell, I truly am in love with this plant:-) It is beautiful in the spring + it is a native shrub- a little designer elements added:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love this one too. It’s to pick up the tones of the Copper Beech…this one is still very young, so I haven’t seen it in flower yet, but as a member of the rose family I’m sure it will put on a good display 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

