Garden Bloggers Foliage Day – December 2014

To celebrate Garden Bloggers Foliage Day (GBFD), hosted by Christina at Garden of the Hesperides, I’m including another Heuchera from the garden.

This one is Heuchera ‘Berry Smoothie’.

IMG_0894

As much as I like the sheer punch of this one, to me it looks more like an alien skin from a B-grade Hollywood sci-fi, but Heuchera ‘Alien Skin’ would be less likely to appeal at the point of sale in a Nursery than ‘Berry Smoothie’…

 

Happy gardening 🙂

11 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Foliage Day – December 2014

    • I think there’s a cottage industry devoted to making new Heucheras 🙂 As a general rule, the less green on the leaf, the more morning sun I give the plant – this one has shade from about midday, and certainly needs protection from afternoon sun. Like you, I haven’t found Heucheras to be shade tolerant, I use Tiarellas instead (although I believe they have crossed Tiarellas and Heucheras?)

      Like

  1. Cool color on this one, I hope it continues to do well for you.
    It might be fun to just start making up your own labels around the yard, the look on someone’s face as they read heuchera “alien skin” would be worth it!

    Like

  2. I planted one of these last summer, and am looking forward to seeing what it does this summer. I actually think “Berry Smoothie” is a pretty good description, though it is darker than most smoothies I make or drink. It will be a nice contrast to all the green foliage in my mostly shady lasagna garden.

    In response to one of the above comments, they have indeed mixed Heucheras with Tiarellas, and they’re called. . . wait for it . . . Heucherellas!

    I recently visited a garden that had a lot of Ilex Vomitoria in it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

