Climbing Iceberg Rose

The bare-rooted rose climber that I planted in the foundation bed in July has come along nicely giving its first spray of spring blooms:

IMG_0670

Rosa ‘Iceberg’

The plan will be to have this rose climb up, and fill out, the corner of the basement wall and up the veranda support post.

I know that due to their popularity, Iceberg roses are often considered over-used in the garden, but I do love the pearly white blooms and, of course they are generally trouble free, which fits in with my belief of not using chemicals in the garden.

IMG_0597

Pearly White Blooms

 

 Similarly, the white blooms contrast with the dark grey painted bricks (and lighter grey siding) of the house perfectly!

I shall have to get cracking with adding support wires to give these roses something to climb up and along.

Happy Gardening 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Climbing Iceberg Rose

  1. Thanks guys – the rose should complement the existing white patio/miniature rose as well as the white-flowered Choisya ternata shrubs that I planted in this bed. I don’t usually colour match in the garden, but white is always so peaceful and soothing.

    Like

  2. It’s really a treat to see how your plantings are doing. Your gardens have had a bit more time getting established than ours here. It’s encouraging to see what might develop from my efforts! I didn’t lay down any mulch in my garden beds but I’ve noticed in all your shots that you have it everywhere. Do you use it for moisture retention?

    Like

    • Hi Sweetk8. Mulch is a must everywhere in Australia, especially on mostly sandy soil like mine. Even though the climate is wet and cool like the UK where I live, being on the 34th parallel, the summer sun is very fierce and dries the top soil out in minutes. I am at a similar latitude to cities like Los Angeles and Beirut. Additionally, it also keeps tender plants warmer in winter and protects from light frosts.
      The mulch is also used for weed suppression and greatly improves the soil: I use bales of sugar cane mulch which are cheap, break down very quickly (a 1cm layer will only last about 2 months) and add nutrients; it’s also good recycling as it is an industry by-product. I don’t use bark mulch because as it breaks down, it robs the soil of Nitrogen.
      The only draw back I know of for using the mulch is that perennials like fox-glove and columbine can’t readily self-sow.

      Like

Leave a Reply

