Rhododendron ‘Blue Admiral’

This was given to me as a housewarming gift by a friend who knows that I have a soft spot for plants that are not run-of-the-mill.

I hadn’t seen the blue azaleas/rhododendrons around for a while. They were popular in garden centres about 10 or so years ago, but many were short lived, and the flowers were definitely not blue.

Sadly if it’s a blue flower that you’re after, then this one is no different – Rhododendrons simply don’t possess the gene – but the flowers are very pretty none-the-less, and as a bonus this plant only gets to 1m x 1m (3’x3′) so it’s well worth a try in shaded areas of the garden for a pretty spring display of slightly blue-ish purple to mauve flowers.

At any rate, this is the first time I’ve seen this one in flower….

IMG_0469

Blue? You be the judge!

….rather fetching, I must say!

Happy gardening 🙂

9 thoughts on “Rhododendron ‘Blue Admiral’

  1. I think it’s lovely! These certainly could make a statement if grown in abundance along a border for instance. I tried my hand with the pink variety when I lived in the US, but we lived too close to salt air and they perished. Congrats! Your garden is really coming along 🙂

    Like

  2. It looks like a Rampano Azalea? I haven’t seen one in years. Maybe it is time for some Larkspur or Delphiniums.
    Still on the blue theme, remember the Bromeliad? from last week, the flower is now turning blue violet!

    Like

  3. Thankyou guys! It is a nice little curiosity whose flowers have a very pretty iridescence in the evening and morning light (my camera doesn’t do it justice, so I had to stick to a day shot).
    I’m hoping I can keep it alive! I’ll definitely be taking layering cuttings of this one after flowering….
    @shrubqueen – the bromeliad sounds wonderful! I can’t wait to see it! That’s the only thing I miss about my old Sydney garden – the big jacaranda tree under-planted with ferns and bromeliads and impatiens that bloomed year round 🙂

    Like

  4. The colour is closer to blue than some blooms that claim to be blue and pretty too. You must be at quite an altitude to have such a low highest temperature, that’s colder than most of the UK and about the same as a high in winter here in Lazio.

    Like

    • Hi Christina, the garden’s a bit over 1,100m (3,500′) above sea level, but less than 100km from the sea, so our summers are quite cool (certainly by Australian standards). Being near the coast we benefit from the rainfall that the Sydney region gets without the oppressive heat and humidity that accompanies it! That said, each day in summer can be very erratic up here – sometimes you can have a day of 32C (90F) followed by a day of just 10C (50F). But I wouldn’t change it for the world 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

