Sugar Maple

I hope everyone had a great Easter long weekend.

Yesterday I took advantage of the great autumn weather we’ve had over the last few days to plant a Sugar Maple (Acer saccharum) which is one of my favourite trees.

The foliage colour on this one is not brilliant as it should be. I purchased this on special about 2 months ago, and had to store it under the dense shade of the Japanese maple for the last 6 weeks during the building work, so I am looking forward to the colour next year once it has been back in full sun.

SugarMaple

I’ll be continuing the garden bed around the maple, as I slowly decrease the area of the yard given over to water hungry lawn and grass to very manageable, smaller areas.

At any rate, planting trees is good for the soul and good for the planet!

2 thoughts on “Sugar Maple

Leave a Reply

